I had a terrible night’s sleep on Saturday after the NBA party and impromptu observing session.  So I spent all day Saturday in my building.  It’s the first day in South America that I didn’t go out.  However, I did discover that the door to the roof is open.  I spent some time up looking at the city from the unexpected vantage point and then took the scope up for another hour long session in which I viewed Jupiter and Saturn as well as Omega Centauri and the Jewel Box again.  The sky was very not good.  Lots of smog and high clouds to go along with the light pollution.  But, still, an hour looking through a scope is better than most other hours.

I also had occasion to think about balance.  If doubt anyone remembers but I wrote once about cutting my basal insulin.  I wear an insulin pump that mimics an actual pancreas in that it secretes a bit of insulin constantly.  That is known as the basal rate.  One requires less insulin the more active one is and I am more active in South America than in the United States.

Why?

Because in the United States I can drive pretty much everywhere and, if I choose, need not walk more than a couple of hundred feet in any given day.  Here, at minimum I walk half a mile to the metro and then half a mile to the office.  So that is, at minimum, two miles of walking per day.  I usually do more.  In Buenos Aires I was clocking about four miles per day on average.  I’m over three here.  And I hit seven or eight a couple of times per week.  Hence, I need less insulin and I knew this would happen so I cut back by 75% when I arrived in Argentina.  I cut back to 70% a few weeks in and I haven’t looked back.

Until Saturday.  When I didn’t walk more than 20 feet without stopping all day.  Okay, discovering the roof was open required climbing two flights of stairs.  I could see this in my blood glucose measurements which were high.  Like the roof.  You’d think that it would be no problem, just take some more insulin, eat less or get some exercise.  Me being the genius scientist who knows you should never change just one variable when you can take several, I did all this on Sunday and ended up enjoying a nice medicinal strawberry crepe with powdered sugar.

The real trouble is that once you break the equilibrium of good blood glucose control, it isn’t necessarily trivial to re-establish it.  I had a reasonably good day and am now preparing for our trip to the Atacama Desert.  So, packing a few extra test strips, a full bottle of insulin and a bushel of M&Ms.  Don’t worry Mom and Dad, it’s good.

Oh, and we had an earthquake last night.

This space will be quiet for a few days until we’re back from the desert.

View from the roof.  Someone has a heater.

IMG_6604.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

